Unpacking Memories One Box at a Time

How does one unpack four years of college into her childhood room, not knowing what lies ahead in the next few months?

Not to mention that her room is now the storage room for other household items and the home of oversized furniture. The sheer amount of STUFF is just overwhelming. It may take me weeks to get this all organized. And by then, maybe I will be moved out!

photo courtesy: General Moving Carriers

In the meantime, I do think it is necessary that I get to heart of all of this “stuff” and do this process right.

The easiest thing for me was to start with my clothes. The other day, I went through all of my clothes and separated them into piles: donate, keep, and consignment. That was easy enough. Now, what about the winter items that I’d like to consign, but will have to wait months to do so? Should I keep them and let them take up space? Is it worth it? What do you think?

That was about as far as I got. I would love to separate everything into piles and box things up if I can, but there isn’t much room.

How do you unpack after a semester of college with limited space or how do you organize before/after a big move? Any helpful tips? Teachers—where do you store your classroom items before you get to school? I’d love some advice.

Leave a Reply

