DIY: Scalloped Lace Jean Shorts

It usually takes me awhile to warm up to a trend, at least enough to try it myself. I’m more of a classic kind of person who relies on flattering cuts and simple lines. But two particular trends that have surfaced recently remind me of vintage clothes I adore, but with a modern twist:

The Scalloped Hem and The Lace Short.

Source: goo.gl via Marissa on Pinterest

As I was looking for simply DIY projects yesterday, I stumbled upon Sweet Verbena‘s amazingly cute scalloped jean shorts DIY and knew I would try it out on a pair of dark Gap jeans that were too short. As I got working, however, I realized I could combine both of these trends into one pair of super cute shorts.

I’ve never made a scalloped hem OR sewed on a curve before, so the seams are a little crooked, but practice makes perfect 🙂 So here you are,  Scalloped Lace Jean Shorts! I am obsessed with them, and I hope you like them, too!

Here’s what you’ll need:

Follow this youtube video or see my directions below.

Step One: Try on your pants/shorts and safety-pin or mark where you want your hem line to be.

Step Two: Turn your pants inside out and measure your length, using a ruler. Draw a straight line across using a washable marker or tailor’s chalk. Notice I do not match up the waistbands because the back side needs to be slightly longer to accommodate your bum 🙂

Step Three: Take a scallop pattern (You may download my PDF here: scalloppattern) and pin it to your hem line. Trace the pattern with a washable marker. Only mark the front side of your pants at this time.

Step Four: Cut the front side of your pants, following the scallop pattern.

Step Five. Trace the scallop pattern on the back of the pants, keeping in mind that the length from the waistband to the hem will be slightly longer. Make sure your scallop line matches up with the front on the side seam. Repeat step 4 on the back. Turn right side out.

You’re finished with the scalloped hem part! I would suggest using Fray Check to keep the edges from fraying. Or, you could continue and sew the edges with a sewing machine (I did this because I don’t have any Fray Check). If I were doing this project again, I would use both methods.

Adding the Lace:

Step Six: Turn shorts inside out and pin the lace to the hem line. I chose a nice simple lace pattern that would stick out nicely above each scallop.

Step Seven: Turn shorts right side out again if you’re like me and you need to see the scallop better. Sew the hem, following the scallop pattern. I used thread that matched the orange/yellow thread of the jeans.

Step Eight (Optional): Sew lace on the edge of the back pockets, like I did, for an added touch.


That’s it! It’s a great facelift to any boring pair of jeans or shorts.

Here’s how I styled my shorts today. Next time, I’d love to bring in a bright color like yellow, orange, or pink. Can’t wait to wear them to the beach! I have a super cute neon pink one-piece that would be perfect with these.

I’d LOVE to see your variations of this DIY. Make sure you link back to me if you’re posting on your blog, or join the fun and post your picture to my flickr pool!

This post was featured on EverythingEtsy.com’s 101 Handmade Summer Tutorials!

Visit Everything Etsy!Reasons To Skip The Housework

4 thoughts on “DIY: Scalloped Lace Jean Shorts

  1. Pingback: 101 Handmade Summer Tutorials

  2. Pingback: Happy One Week Blog-A-Versary, TMA! + GIVEAWAY(CLOSED)!!

Leave a Reply

