Book Review: One Day by David Nicholls

One DayOne Day by David Nicholls

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’m having a hard time deciding whether or not I enjoyed this book. I chose to read this book after reading a brief synopsis; only after I checked it out of the library and saw the cover did I realize that it was the basis for the Anne Hathaway and Jim Sturgess film that was recently released. Having been to Scotland last year and intrigued by the idea of a couple meeting up every year on the same day, I was anxious to read the book. After I got into it, however, I was struck by how different this book was than I expected. The characters Emma and Dexter are starkly different; I enjoyed their juxtaposition and how they complimented each other and I appreciated author David Nicholls’ honest portrayal of them, never hiding their flaws, but rather making them likable. The book highlights one day a year for 20 years, a length of time I felt was too long, even though it illustrated each stage of life so accurately. I felt myself wishing that they would get on with it–fall in love already! All in all, I enjoyed reading about how Emma and Dexter’s lives intertwined and how life isn’t a fairy tale love story, but I closed the book with deeper emotions than I had anticipated or hoped for. If you’re looking for a deep insight into the complexities of life and love, this is a good book for you. If you’re looking for just a light love story, this may be a challenge to get through, albeit a worthwhile one.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

