Teacher Tuesdays! 7.3.12

Welcome to the first Teacher Tuesdays Link Party!

I am so excited to learn new ideas and share my own with all of you. Because this is the first link party, I don’t expect there to be many links, but hopefully it will grow over time!

Here’s what I have to share with you today: My Interview Outfits!

For the first interview, I kept it classic and conservative. Based on all of the research I did, this was the way to go. If you’re interviewing for a teaching position, you must wear a suit or find suit separates that work together! (As a teacher, it is rare to have to wear a suit, but choosing separates solves everything.)

 

Blazer, Blouse, and Skirt: Calvin Klein (Macys)
Shoes: Liz Claiborne (Shoe Carnival)
Earrings: c/o Mom
Necklace: JC Penney or Kohl’s…can’t remember 🙂
Tote: Relic (Kohl’s)

Even though I really wanted to make it pop more, I kept it to a minimum with the red bag and silver accessories. That way, I still showed my personality but didn’t give the committee any reason to doubt me based on my appearance alone. At least I hope I didn’t!

I found that I really enjoyed the simplicity of this outfit. I can wear these items over and over again and never feel out of style. I chose the A-line skirt instead of a pencil skirt because it was a lot more flattering for my body type and I could continue wearing it even if I gained a few pounds 😉

For my second interview, during which I had to teach a lesson to a committee and the superintendent, I still kept it conservative, but I added more pops of color and exciting elements to show a little more of my personality. I chose suit separates that I had purchased at different times that shared the same material and shade.  I also brought in more playful jewelry and left the top untucked (it wouldn’t have worked tucked anyway).

Blazer: The Limited (Goodwill)
Pants: Express
Blouse: NY and Company
Shoes: JC Penney
Jewelry: Kohl’s, c/o Mom
Tote: a.n.a (Kohl’s) 

I’m excited about these pieces because I can wear them ALL in a variety of ways! I plan on wearing the new top with black cropped pants or even black skinnys on the weekends. I can always wear the black pants with both heels or flats and the blazer can dress up any outfit.

What would you wear on an interview? I’d love to hear!

Have a teacher outfit, craft, lesson plan, or strategy to share? Submit your link below! Don’t forget:

  • You must link back to The Modern Austen in your post (grab a button!)
  • Submit your specific blog post–not a general URL for your blog
  • Please, do not share your giveaways!
  • Explore other links–It’s a party, after all!
One thought on “Teacher Tuesdays! 7.3.12

Leave a Reply

