Blogging “Burn Out”

 

I’ve hit that point. That point when you question whether or not you want to continue what it is that you’re doing. You question whether or not you have the time or energy or resources to do it. And you know that if you stop it now, you won’t pick it up again (at least, not for a long time).

Photo courtesy: Brainless Tales

Blogging the past few months has been a great experience. I have loved being more creative, putting myself out there, and learning so much about photo editing, writing, fashion, style, and more. I know I have a long ways to go, but it has been a rewarding experience. However, I’m at that point in the summer where my priorities are taking over. I have a teaching job now that will require all of me–my heart, my brain, my energy, my time. I want very badly to be that super woman who you see all over the blogosphere: the woman who can balance a full-time job, a family, a spouse, friends, crafting, AND blogging. I often wonder, “How do they do it? And how can I learn?”

So, I’m at a standstill. I’m not happy with where my blog is now (even though I am proud of how far I’ve come in such a short time), but I have major plans to improve it. The problem is, do I have the time and the energy to do it?

Have you ever been burnt out? What have you done to fix it? Did you let go of some activities, even though they were important to you, or did you push yourself to make it happen because it makes you happy?

I think I want to prove to myself that I can do this. Even during my first year of teaching. Because what better time to document my life than when I am moving out and everything is changing? 

I apologize for the lack of energy and posts the past week or two, but I hope you can forgive me 🙂 I could use any and all advice and would love feedback. What would YOU like to see at The Modern Austen? I appreciate your help!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Blogging “Burn Out”

  1. You know, your website and blog has been such an inspiration to me this summer. You’ve been superuber busy, but you’ve managed to do all these cool things (teacher tuesdays being my fav). On one hand, I’ll be sad to see you take a break, but being a first year teacher is HARD, no matter what. I think you’ll come back to this when you can (and I’ll bet you don’t ever actually truly leave it) but I don’t think you should worry much about the burnout. I tried to blog my move and first year, and it was sporadic after the first few months because there is so much to do in those first years! HOWEVER, you’ve inspired me to start it all back up again. I guess I’m saying that you’re normal. You have a lot going for you, and when you have the time and inspiration, you’ll be back at it here. We all need time to recharge!

    Love you! -Bettth

    • Beth,

      That was exactly what I needed to hear, thank you. It means so much to me to hear that I’ve helped, in some small way, to get you back in the blogging game. But YOU are the one who has inspired me! I watched you grow as you stepped out of your comfort zone, moved away, and made a future for yourself. I hope that I can be as successful as you are. I am sure you are right–blogging will probably be sporadic, but I don’t think I could give it up either 🙂 Glad to hear that I am “normal!” Anyway, I hope that you are doing very well! I miss you a lot and hope we can catch up soon.

      Love you, too! Marissa

  2. i have so enjoyed the start up to your blog and the neat features you have started. juggling work & hobbies will always be difficult and you have a lot of changes, important changes, coming up in your life! you just can’t place any expectations on yourself with your blog. i think about once a month i go through the same questions… why am i doing this, who reads this, what does it matter… etc. you just have to keep it at that hobby level and come to it when you have something to share, don’t pressure yourself to do too much posting. i hope you find a balance because i know i look forward to hearing about what is to come for you!

    • Heidi, thank you. You really put this in perspective for me and you’re completely right. It has been so helpful to have such wonderful people supporting and inspiring me. I know that I am very grateful to have stumbled across your blog 🙂 thanks again for your kind words.

  3. I’ve enjoyed your blog! Just keep blogging about what YOU want to blog about, and not what you think others want to read about. That way, it stays enjoyable and it won’t seem like a chore that you have to keep up with. In a few years you’ll look back at it as a nice journal about where you were at certain times in your life.

  4. I feel like so many of us are reaching that point this summer. I find that most of the time when we feel burned out we actually feel doubtful of whether we will be able to accomplish what we’re after – the mind gets tired and it’s easier to think that “it’s too hard.” But keep plugging away! Even little steps get you there eventually.

  5. We all have that moment in blogging. I’ve started taking off a day a week, because some days I just don’t feel like putting on makeup and doing hair, or even getting out of my PJs to clean the apartment! So you’re not alone. Do what you need to do, and your blog and readers will still be there!

Leave a Reply

